The Commission on New Minerals, Nomenclature and Classification (CNMNC) of the International Mineralogical Association (IMA) was formed in July 2006 by a merger between the Commission on New Minerals and Mineral Names (CNMMN) and the Commission on Classification of Minerals, at the request of both commissions. The Chairman has published a paper on this merger in Elements, Vol. 2, p. 388.

The Commission on New Minerals and Mineral Names (CNMMN) was established in 1959 for the purpose of controlling the introduction of new minerals and mineral names, and of rationalising mineral nomenclature. Since that time, the work of the CNMMN has gained overwhelming support from the international mineralogical community. Please consult a review of the Commission activities. An official IMA-CNMNC list of Mineral Names can be accessed on the IMA list of minerals page of the web site.

The objective of the Commission on Classification of Minerals (CCM) was to review existing systems of mineral classification and to provide advice on the classification of minerals to the mineralogical community.

The CNMNC consists of representatives appointed by national mineralogical bodies, and an executive committee consisting of chairman, two vice-chairmen and secretary, see the list of current members.

The activities of the CNMMN, and its various recommendations for mineral nomenclature, have been widely published (see IMA reports) in a substantial number of mineralogical journals over a number of years.

It must be understood that the CNMNC does not wish to impose an arbitrary set of rigid rules on the mineralogical community, but rather to provide a set of coherent guidelines that provide a reasonably consistent approach to the introduction of new minerals and the application of mineral nomenclature. The CNMNC has a protocol with procedures and guidelines for proposing new minerals and mineral names.

This web site is assembled by Cristiano Landucci (University of Trieste)
and the IMA-CNMNC chairman, Ferdinando Bosi (Sapienza University of Rome).
Mail your comments to